

2024 ENFL Spring Newsletter

Welcome to the ENFL 2024 Spring Newsletter! Within these pages, you will discover the latest updates of our division's organizational structure, including the roster of our 2024 Executive Committee Officers and the Chairs of our four existing Subcommittees.

As spring unfolds, we are excited to announce the expansion of our division which involves the establishment of a new subcommittee and the Advisory Board. Here, we extend an invitation to prospective members and call for volunteers to work with us.

In this newsletter, we also announce our division awards winners and congratulate several esteemed ENFL members for their national recognition. In addition, we invite all the members to participate in the upcoming ENFL events and fill out the Member Satisfactory Survey. Lastly, we hope to relive the moments of camaraderie through photos from the division banquet at the 2024 ACS Spring Meeting.

Newsletter Editor: Honghong Shi, Ronald Marquez

New Officers

CHAIR

- Yunlong Zhang ExxonMobil yunlongacs@gmail.com
- CHAIR-ELECT Yingwen Cheng – UTK ycheng@utk.edu
- IMMEDIATE PAST-CHAIR Jun Lu – ZHEJIANG U junzoelu@zju.edu.cn
- PROGRAMMING CO-CHAIRS - Liang Bing Hu – YALE U liangbing.hu@yale.edu
- Burcu Gurkan CWRU beg23@case.edu
- SECRETARY (2023-2024) Deepika Malhotra – PNNL deepika.malhotra@pnnl.gov

TREASURER (2024-2025) Sen Zhang – UVa acsenfltreasurer2024@gmail.com

COUNCILORS

- Dady Dadyburjor WVU (2024-2026)
- Dady.Dadyburjor@mail.wvu.edu - Randall Winans - ANL (2023-2025)
- Kundun Windus ANL (2023-202
 rewinans@anl.gov
 Jingbo Liu TAMU (2022-2024)
- jingbo.liu@chem.tamu.edu

ALTERNATIVE COUNCILORS

- David Heldebrant PNNL (2024-2026)
- David.Heldebrant@pnnl.gov ----
- Umit S. Ozkan OSU (2023-2025)
- ozkan.1@osu.edu - Ah-Hyung Alissa Park – UCLA (2022-2024)
- apark@seas.ucla.edu

DIRECTORS AT LARGE

- Alan Chaffee Monash U, Australia (2024-2026)
- alan.chaffee@monash.edu
- Michael Reynolds Shell (2023-2025) mike.reynolds@shell.com
- *Michelle Kidder –* ORNL (2022-2024) kidderm@ornl.gov

TRUSTEE

- Marek A. Wójtowicz Advanced Fuel Research marek@afrinc.com
- Michael Serio –
- Advanced Fuel Research
- Eric Suuberg BROWN U Eric_Suuberg@brown.edu

AWARD CHAIR Chunshan Song – CUHK ChunshanSong@cuhk.edu.hk

MEMBERSHIP CHAIR *Ranjit Koodali –* NMSU rkoodali@nmsu.edu

LONG RANGE PLANNING CHAIR Lisa Houston lisahoustonacs@gmail.com

PUBLIC POLICY CHAIR Paul Robinson (2024-2026) pr.robinson@yahoo.com

Updates of Subcommittees

Existing Subcommittees

COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE

CHAIR Honghong "Crystal" Shi – PNNL crystal.shi@pnnl.gov

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

CHAIR Mariefel Olarte - PNNL mariefel.olarte@pnnl.gov

INDUSTRY COMMITTEE

CHAIR Wei Wang – ARAMCO wei.wang@aramcoamericas.com

SOCIAL ARRANGEMENT COMMITTEE

CHAIR Jean-François Borny - LUMMUS TECHNOLOGY

jean-francois.borny@lummustech.com

New Subcommittees

FINANCE & BUDGET COMMITTEE

CHAIR Sen Zhang – UVA acsenfltreasurer2024@gmail.com

ADVISORY BOARD

Anne Co - OSU co@chemistry.ohio-state.edu

Wei Wang – ARAMCO wei.wang@aramcoamericas.com

Honghong "Crystal" Shi – PNNL crystal.shi@pnnl.gov

Stanislaus Wong – STONY BROOK U stanislaus.wong@stonybrook.edu

> Jinxia Fu – HAWAII U jinxiafu@hawaii.edu

Sajid Liu – TA&M Kingsville br9@tamuk.edu

Paul Robinson pr.robinson@yahoo.com

Yuvan Shao - PNNL Yuyan.Shao@pnnl.gov

Feng Jiao - WUSTL jiaof@wustl.edu

Cesar Ovalles - CHEVRON covalles@chevron.com

Ayrat Gizzatov – HUNTSMAN Ayrat.gizzatov@outlook.com

Aleksandar "Alex" I. Goranov - OLD DOMINION U agoranov@odu.edu

Jean-Francçis Borny - LUMMUS TECHNOLOGY

jean-francois.borny @lummustech.com

Call for Volunteers & New Members



ENFL is looking for volunteers to help with Division activities and business. These will only take 5-10 hours/month and will provide leadership and functional skills as well as excellent networking opportunities with Division leaders and members. Please contact the leads of subcommittees (emails provided as above), if you are interested in working with us.

Please check our website https://enfl.aps.anl.gov/, follow ACS Division of Energy & Fuels (ENFL) group site on LinkedIn, and subscribe to the <u>ACS ENFL</u> YouTube channel for more updates and news. If you have comments or questions, please email us at ENFLDivision@gmail.com.

Award Announcements

The following ENFL awards and ACS national awards have been announced. Warm congratulations to all of the awardees! Please check on our website ENFL - Awards or contact the Award Subcommittee for upcoming award opportunities.

- 2024 National Academy of Engineering Dr. Umit Ozkan, Professor, The Ohio State University
- 2024 ACS Women Chemists Committee (WCC) Rising Star Dr. Greeshma Gadikota, Associate Professor, Cornell University
- 2024 The Kavli Foundation Emerging Leader in Chemistry Dr. Deepika Malhotra, Staff Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
- 2024 ENFL Distinguished Researcher Award Dr. Eric M. Suuberg, Professor, **Brown University**
- 2024 ENFL Mid-Career Award Dr. Louise Liu, Texas A&M University -

- Kingsville
- 2024 Energy Lectureship Awards (Outstanding Early-Career Investigator) Dr. Ya You, Professor, Wuhan University of Technology
- 2024 Energy Lectureship Awards (Outstanding Mid-Career Investigator) Dr. Venkat Viswanathan, Associate Professor, University of Michigan
- 2024 ACS Spring R. A. Glenn Award for Best Talk in ENFL Symposiums Dr. Betar Gallant, Associate Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- 2024 ACS Spring ENFL Student Travel Awards:

Platinum - Emily Clayton, Villanova University
Gold - Sonia Arumuganainar, Princeton University.
Emily Doyle, University of Chicago
Silver - Sathya Jagadeesan, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Justus Kumper, RWTH Aachen University

Honorary Mentioning - Yi Zhi Chu, Michigan Technological University

Upcoming ENFL Events

This summer, **ENFL** will collaborate with **ACS** - **The Division of Professional Relations** to hold a series of workshops regarding **Individual Development Plans** and **Transferable Skills**. The workshops will assist you with structured planning tools such as *myIDP* and *CHEMIDP*; helping you identify your skills, interests, values, and develop a step-by-step plan for your career.

Additionally, the ENFL division will support reasonable travel expenses for up to a maximum of \$1,500 for 5 members who attend the workshops to participate in the 2024 ACS Fall meeting!

Please stay tuned for the dates of this series of resourceful events from the email blast or LinkedIn post.



Membership Satisfactory Survey

Click the link below to access the survey and let us know how we can serve you

ACS Energy and Fuels Division 2024 Membership Survey

Division Banquet Gallery

The ACS - Energy & Fuels Division and the Chinese American Chemical Society held a joint banquet during the 2024 ACS Spring Meeting on Monday, March 18th in New Orleans. Thanks to Dr. H. N. Cheng, the former ACS President, again for the inspirational special talk and all the guests presented. More photos: 2024 ACS Spring - ENFL Banquet





Special Thanks to Our Sponsors!



ACS Division of Energy & Fuels | 1155 Sixteenth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20036

<u>Unsubscribe enfldivision@gmail.com</u> <u>Update Profile |Constant Contact Data</u> <u>Notice</u> Sent byenfldivision@gmail.compowered by

