2009 Randall Winans

Randall Winans elected to the first Class of ACS Fellows, 2009


Randall E. Winans, a long time member of the Fuel Chemistry Division, as been elected to the inaugural 2009 class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of the American Chemical Society for outstanding achievements in and contributions to Science, the Profession, and the Society.” Ultimately, the body of Fellows is intended to reach approximately 1-2% of ACS membership.  See: C&E New Article

Winans and the other 162 Class of 2009 ACS Fellows will be honored at a special ceremony during the ACS National Meeting in Washington, D.C., on Monday, August 17, 2009. 

Randy Winans received his Ph.D. in Physical Organic Chemistry from Cornell University in 1975, whereupon he took a postdoctoral appointment at Argonne, where he’s served as an Assistant Chemist, Chemist, and Chemistry Group Leader, achieving the rank of Senior Chemist. From 2001 to 2006 he was the Director of the Basic Energy Sciences Synchrotron Radiation Center at Sectors 11 and 12 of the APS. In 2005 he became Group Leader of the Chemistry, Environmental and Polymer Group in the X-ray Operations and Research section of the X-ray Science Division. He was named Group leader of the newly formed Chemical and Materials Science Group in 2009.

Winans is co-author on numerous refereed publications and has made many contributions to the chemistry community.  For the Division of Fuel Chemistry he has served as: Treasurer 1983-1985; Trustee 1987;  Chair‑Elect 1988; Chair 1989; Past Chair 1990; Chair, Strategic Planning Committee 1993-1995; Director-at-Large 1995-1998; Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee to monitor Energy & Fuels 1994; Webmaster, and Chair of the ACS Storch Award Selection Committee; symposium chair of several national meeting symposia).  For all of these vital contributions, Randy was recognized with the FUEL Distinguished Service Award in 2007.  For the National Society, Randy was elected to serve on the American Chemical Society Committee on Science 2006 – 2009; he was the obvious candidate for our division to nominate for this august committee.  He has also been on the Editorial Board for the ACS Journal Energy & Fuels since 1994.

He is the only known division member who has achieved both their highest scientific honor (the ACS-Exxon Henry H. Storch Award for Excellence in Fuel Science) and the division’s Distinguished Service Award.