ENFL Research Excellence Award in Electrochemical Energy Storage


ACS Energy & Fuels (ENFL) Division Research Excellence Award in Electrochemical Energy Storage (EES Award), Sponsored by CAPCHEM TECHNOLOGY USA INC. (CAPCHEM), is to promote excellence in electrochemical energy storage research. This award defines the field of interest covered as “scientific research and technology development of electric energy storage via electrochemical means.” The award’s primary purpose is to recognize and support scientists in electric energy storage affiliated with the ACS ENFL Division. It is intended to honor individuals who are midway into their careers, i.e., 10-20 years after his/her last degree at the time of nomination. The award is based both on the research excellence and service to the division/ACS of the nominee.

The criteria for the award include:


Excellence in basic or applied research in the broadly defined area of electrochemical energy storage, as evidenced by publications and/or patents, invention and/or commercialization, and leadership in the research area. Nominee must have made significant and original contributions in research and developments that have advanced the field of electrochemical energy storage.


Contributions to ACS and the Energy and Fuels Division could include, but is not limited to, contributions to ACS symposia including those sponsored by ENFL or its predecessors, as an invited speaker, a presenter, or symposium organizer.


Nominees must be current members in good standing of the American Chemical Society and Energy and Fuels Division. Former members will not be considered as nominees.

Nominations may be made by any member or non-member of the ENFL to the EES Award selection committee. Nomination package should include a letter of nomination summarizing the research accomplishments and service to ACS and the Division of Energy and Fuels (no more than 5 pages), a CV including list of selected publications (no more than 5 pages) and two supporting letters. The nomination should be submitted by June 1st of the award year to the EES Award Committee Chair David J Heldebrant (david.heldebrant@pnnl.gov).

The awardee will be announced in the ACS Fall Meeting of the award year and an Award Symposium in honor of the awardee will be held in the following ACS National Meeting. The award consists of $2,000, a plaque, two tickets to the Division dinner, up to $1,500 to support the awardee’s registration, airfare and lodging.

Selection: The EES Award selection committee shall consist of a Chair, who recruits the committee members which should include at least one member of the ENFL Executive Committee, and 3-5 leading scientists in the field (who may or may not be members of the ENFL). The awardees may be asked to serve in the Selection Committee.


CAPCHEM is a leading global enterprise specialized in electronic chemicals and functional materials. CAPCHEM products mainly include lithium-ion battery chemicals, capacitor chemicals, organic fluorine chemicals, and semiconductor chemicals.


Past Awards


2021  Jun Lu

2022 Liangbing Hu